Let’s Cut the Crap: This is What Gay Marriage is All About

I got married in 2009.  Let’s just assume I married a dude instead of a monster woman.
There were three aspects to this marriage.  I have some questions for gay marriage proponents on these aspects:

Aspect A:

Aspect B:

Aspect C:

Now the questions.  Which aspect do you thing was most important to me?


That’s right!  Aspect A was far more important to me than the crappy bits of paper I got from it.
Second question:  Which aspect would be legal if my ex wife was a dude?

Answer:  Got it in one!  Aspects A and B would be just fine and dandy under New Zealand law.  So all the important bits of the marriage/relationship were covered.

Question:  Is it a human rights issue that two dudes can participate in aspect A, receive the certificate in aspect B, but, boo freaking hoo, can’t get the elusive bit of paper C, with the word “Marriage” on it?

The answer is “hell no”.

Cameron Slater thinks that this is the most important thing in the whole wide world.  I beg, just slightly, to differ.  A little bit.

To me, it was far more important to make vows in front of all my relatives and friends.  That is the essence of marriage.  Government was not a part of my love life and my commitment to the one I loved.  And gay people can do that too!  They have been able to do it, just like I did, since 1986.  So there is no issue here.

The real issue is whether the government should make moral judgements on the issue of marriage.  Should they redefine an institution which is thousands of years old?  Should they change what marriage is so that half-arsed homosexuals who still feel slightly guilty about bumming each other, can feel better about themselves (if you have no moral issue with what you do, why do you give a f*ck whether the government endorses it?!).

However you want to spin it, this is the government, an outside force, with guns and laws, deciding what should be “normal” between two individual people, and what w0rds should mean.  There is nothing civil, moral, or libertarian about that.

I support freedom, I support civil rights, and I support people being able to live with, and have sex with, and commit to, whoever they want.  But I do not support the government making arbitrary decisions in favour of one person’s morality over my own.  The government should not be deciding what marriage is.  That is a decision for me, my partner, my church, and my God.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Cut the Crap: This is What Gay Marriage is All About

  1. Don McKenzie says:

    Amen to that.

  2. Richard says:

    To me, it was far more important to make vows in front of all my relatives and friends. That is the essence of marriage. … And gay people can do that too!

    So gay people can do that too?! Well, if that’s “the essence of marriage,” Blair, why shouldn’t gay people qualify for a piece of paper saying so?

    I’m more concerned about the Human Rights Act implications of Louisa Wall’s bill.

    I’m neither cold nor hot on this one.

    • Well where does it stop? Should the government pay for the wedding as well? Why should the government do anything?

      You or I may not see the big deal in a piece of paper being issued, but it is the principle of the thing. It’s also the symbolism of it. Activists believe, rightly or wrongly, that they can use the government to help them redefine marriage in society. I think that is an abuse of the power of governments. They want government to agree with their point of view, and I am saying “Why should it?” Why should the government explicitly take sides on a moral issue like this?

      • Richard says:

        Blair, my point was that in saying that “the essence of marriage” is “to make vows in front of … relatives and friends,” you yourself appear to have defined marriage in terms which don’t exclude same-sex couples.

        As to “Why should the government do anything?” … I can’t think of a good reason! The government has no business being involved in the marriage business in the first place.

Leave a Reply

